The Power of a Personal Story

Every Lithuanian has heard statistics – Lithuania is a country that ranks at the top of the suicide tables. I knew it. I have heard it many times before. It was a sad statistic. Fortunately, no-one from my family has ever committed suicide, nor did I ever hear about anyone affected by such event. Suicide was always for me just a statistic.

A friend of mine posted this on Facebook, and as she noted, there are way too many hands during the moment ’15:28′.

 

I do not want the fact I mentioned above to change – a suicide to be just a statistic for me personally. Hearing Jurgita speak made me realise that suicide is a much bigger problem that I thought. And probably suicide is just a form of the many issues people face individually. There is so much space in Lithuania for compassion. So many people feel isolated and alone in all of this. I hope to be able to  provide that needed hug, to find time for another’s sorrow and to bring light when needed.

Some time ago while reading one of the stories on Medium, I came across this quote:
“What I am trying to say, it may sound as a cliché, but still most cliches are based on truth. The most valuable things in life are free. But in this time and age, especially an entrepreneur tends to disregard those things that have no price tag attached. The price and having the money to pay for things becomes the only measure of success and a source of fulfilment and happiness. But that is all the greatest scam of huge proportions. Please never forget that those things which hold the key to your happiness are the love of your parents, of your life partner and of your children if you have any. The things that come for free. If I were you I would write a reminder of this on a big piece of cardboard and hang it somewhere where you will see it every day. Before it is too late.”

The most precious things have no price tag.

Leave a Reply

