Oh, language!

In the two kindergartens I teach, I was asked to teach the word ‘quilt’. The first time I learned what was quilt was around my Junior year at uni when Allison was making a quilt for someone in her family. Before that, I have never encountered the word and felt somewhat uncomfortable to teach it. The two words I used most while in the U.S. and in the U.K. were – ‘blanket’ and ‘duvet’ respectively.

I did a quick online search and found out what was the difference between ‘blanket’, ‘duvet’ and ‘quilt’.  HERE is an awesome website that explains the differences and even describes what are other pieces of bedding, such as a ‘comforter’ or a ‘coverlet’.

Before finishing this post, I would like to share some excerpts from the article about the words I have encountered most:

“Quilt. Traditionally composed of three layers of fiber, quilts consist of a woven cloth top, a layer of batting and a woven back, all stitched together in decorative patterns.”

A duvet is essentially a soft flat bag filled with down, feathers or a synthetic alternative. It is recommended that duvets are inserted into a removable cover, much like a pillow and pillow case.”

A blanket -“a cloth that is like a towel, but it’s usually heavier and instead of drying you, it keeps you warm. Most people like to keep blankets on their bed at night. Blankets are totally sweet.” Taken from an urban dictionary.

Today I learned that a word ‘kiwi’ in Chinese is a combination of ‘monkey’ and ‘peach’. When I think about kiwi – it’s so true – it looks like a hairy monkey-peach. Oh, Chinese!

Kiwi – 猕猴桃 [Míhóutáo]

Leave a Reply

