Tofu

Apparently the house that I am staying at is called ‘tofu’. Yesterday two friends were visiting and they told that poorly made houses are called by Chinese tofu. Chinese tofu is soft and a little bit ‘lulling’.

As a matter of fact Chinese eat lots and lots of tofu. Tofu can be purchased in every corner shop. Even tiny shops sell blocks of tofu. In Lithuania tofu isn’t popular. It is barely possible to find it. (Maybe now it is not so difficult, but a few years ago for sure). Up until now, I was not even sure what exactly tofu was. I knew that it was not meat and had some vegan origin which contained some nutrients that could replace meat. But that was about it.

Seeing tofu daily, made me wonder what it was. So I did a little bit of research. Simply stated – it is a curd of beans: “Tofu, or bean curd, is a popular food derived from soya. It is made by curdling fresh soya milk, pressing it into a solid block and then cooling it – in much the same way that traditional dairy cheese is made by curdling and solidifying milk. The liquid (whey) is discarded, and the curds are pressed to form a cohesive bond.”. I could have guessed that. There are so many types of beans available at little supermarkets – black, brown, green, yellow, white, crushed, fresh, dried and in different sizes. Some sort of bean deserts are sold on the streets. My colleagues drink soy bean soup every morning for breakfast. Simply stated – beans abound in this culture. And so is tofu.

A little fun fact – tofu originates in China!

A great article on how to cook tofu: http://www.bonappetit.com/test-kitchen/common-mistakes/article/tofu-common-mistakes
Some tofu recipes that I should try some time:

http://www.chinasichuanfood.com/mapo-tofu-recipe/

https://www.blueapron.com/recipes/kung-pao-tofu-with-chinese-broccoli-brown-rice

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/szechuan-style-tofu-with-peanuts
p.s.
A good thing is that I love beans! There are dried crushed beans available in supermarkets and they don’t take centuries to cook. So, I have been adding them everywhere – to rice, soups and even my morning oatmeal porridge. I think this is something I want to bring back and include in my diet back home.

Leave a Reply

