What is my path?

Apparently to get visa isn’t so easy. I will find out if I got one on the 18th.

As I am waiting for my trip to China I just found one pdf saved on my desktop, called “My Rules of Thumb” by N. Gregory Mankiw. I don’t remember reading it before but after looking into it, I realised why it was saved there – in the easiest to spot place – so that I would definitely open it again. It is written by an economics professor who lists 6 rules of thumb about working. And it is insightful!

For the last 3 years (or maybe 7) I have been feeling lost and not knowing where exactly I should be heading. He had some sort of similar issues. (How relieving!) After graduating, he was switching between law and economics, even studying both – one after the other. I guess it is normal to search for your path. We are all so gifted and if blessed with curiosity – then it is a tough decision to make.

In that same article dr. Mankiw provides an indirect answer to the question how to choose (as in my case, which path to take) and there is nothing really novel in his answer. Yet, profound things are just that simple. He basically says follow your heart and your curiosity:

“Graduate students starting work on their dissertations often ask me for strategic advice. What are the hot research areas? What topics will get them jobs at the top universities? It is easy to understand why students ask these questions, but these are the wrong questions for someone embarking on a research career. I tell students that they should be asking themselves more personal questions. What would they like to learn about? What do they observe in the world and find puzzling? What topics get them excited?

Doing research is not like digging a ditch. A person can dig a perfectly fine ditch without enjoying his job for a minute. By contrast, research requires a certain passion about the topic being studied. Passion goes hand in hand with creativity. No one can manufacture this passion for strategic reasons of career advancement.

Most people who pursue an academic career do so because they are fascinated by their subject. It is for this reason that
professors report among the highest rates of job satisfaction of all professions. Professors have found what they like to do, and they have found someone to pay them to do it.”

The question I should be raising is what am I passionate about? What would I like to learn about? What do I find puzzling in the world around?

P.s. Norėjau, kad šis blogas būtų lietuvių kalba, bet matyt, tai vis tiek bus a clutter of English & Lithuanian:)

Leave a Reply

